A US seller can sell on Amazon Mexico two ways. Remote Fulfillment with FBA lists eligible US offers on Amazon.com.mx and ships each order across the border from US stock; local Amazon Mexico FBA means importing inventory into Mexican fulfillment centers and selling it domestically. Three things change once Mexico is involved: an RFC tax ID that decides how much Amazon withholds, a courier import rulebook that blocks whole product types from cross-border orders, and a peso fee card that Amazon.com.mx publishes openly (data checked 2026-09-15). This guide covers only those Mexico-specific layers, using Amazon’s own pages.

What Mexico Shares With Canada

The unified North America and Brazil account, Build International Listings, and the enrollment path for Remote Fulfillment work the same way for Amazon.com.mx as for Amazon.ca, so they are not repeated here — read selling on Amazon Canada for the account and listing mechanics, and where Amazon FBA sellers operate for how Mexico fits the wider marketplace map. One Mexico-specific account note: our arbitration clause guide records that Amazon’s March 2026 agreement update split Mexico into a separate agreement, so check the Mexico version of the terms.

Remote Fulfillment vs. Local Amazon Mexico FBA

Amazon’s Remote Fulfillment page describes the route plainly: “Customers pay any import duties, taxes, and fees as the importer of record. That means you don’t need to pay taxes in Canada, Mexico, or Brazil.” For anything Remote Fulfillment cannot carry, the same page offers the alternative: “You can also use FBA worldwide and export your inventory to Amazon fulfillment centers in those countries for it to be sold domestically” (sell.amazon.com, data checked 2026-09-15).

Remote Fulfillment with FBALocal Amazon Mexico FBA
Where stock sitsUS FBA inventoryMexican fulfillment centers
How goods enter MexicoPer order, when a customer buysA shipment you export in advance
Product limitsCourier import restrictions (below)Mexican import rules for your shipment
Tax withholding triggerNot one of the three conditions Amazon lists“you store inventory in Mexico” is listed
FeesRemote Fulfillment costs + Amazon.com.mx referral feeMexican FBA fee card + referral fee
Returns“sent back to the US”Amazon.com.mx FBA returns

Two rows carry most of the decision. The withholding row is why the RFC section below matters more for local FBA than for Remote Fulfillment. The product-limits row is why some catalogs cannot use Remote Fulfillment at all, whatever the margin.

The RFC: The Tax ID That Sets Amazon’s Withholding

The RFC (Registro Federal de Contribuyentes) is Mexico’s federal taxpayer ID. Amazon’s Mexican income tax withholding FAQ says who it reaches: “If you, your business, or both are physically located in Mexico, or you store inventory in Mexico, or the products you sell are shipped from and to a Mexican address, your account(s) may be subject to such withholding.” It also states that a Mexican reform “mandates that Amazon, as a digital platform collecting payments on behalf of sellers, must withhold both Value Added Tax (VAT) and Income Tax from seller transactions starting January 1, 2026” (Seller Central Mexico help, data checked 2026-09-15).

The same page publishes the 2026 schedule by RFC status:

RFC status (Amazon’s labels)TypeVAT withheldIncome tax withheld
Domestic RFCsBusiness8.0%2.5%
Domestic RFCsIndividual8.0%2.5%
No RFC ProvidedAll16.0%20.0%
Foreign RFCsBusiness16.0%0.0%
Foreign RFCsIndividual16.0%0.0%

Source: Amazon’s “January 1, 2026 Tax Law” columns, data checked 2026-09-15. The page’s older narrative text still carries a 2021 one-percent line for individuals; the 2026 table is the current schedule.

Three mechanics on that page matter to a cross-border seller:

  • It runs through your reserve. Amazon reviews your RFC status weekly and updates “the income tax withheld in your account level reserve,” then remits monthly and uploads a withholding certificate the following month.
  • Missing RFC means the maximum rate. “When an RFC ID is not provided to Amazon, the Mexican Government requires Amazon to apply and remit the maximum withholding rate for non-registered sellers (20%).”
  • Remitted tax does not come back through Amazon. “Taxes already remitted to the Mexican government cannot be refunded by Amazon.”

To add an RFC, the FAQ’s path is Settings, then Account info, then RFC ID under Tax information, plus a Constancia de Situación Fiscal no older than three months. Amazon validates it against the Mexican tax authority, and “this process can take up to 5 business days.”

This is not tax advice. Amazon’s page says so itself: “Information in this article does not constitute tax, legal, or other professional advice and must not be used as such.” Whether a US business needs an RFC, and whether a Remote Fulfillment order falls inside the trigger list above, are questions for a Mexican contador, not for this page. How to register for an RFC is SAT’s process; this guide does not summarize it.

Products That Cannot Cross by Courier

The Remote Fulfillment FAQ lists “Blocked for importation” as an ineligible product type for Mexico and Brazil, and the Mexico link goes to a Seller Central page titled “Products that cannot be imported into Mexico by carrier, parcel service or courier.” It opens: “Per customs restrictions, the following products cannot be imported into Mexico through a courier, and their reinstatement in the Amazon.com.mx catalog will not be considered” (Seller Central Mexico help, data checked 2026-09-15).

What the page lists, grouped:

  • E-mobility: electric scooters, electric bicycles, electric motorcycles, hoverboards, Segways and similar devices.
  • Goods hard to identify by composition: powders, liquids, pills, tablets, granules, capsules and other pharmaceutical forms.
  • Countervailing-duty goods: since January 2025, courier import is expressly prohibited for products under countervailing duties — the page names footwear of any kind, ceramic kitchenware and cookware, pressure cookers, aluminum cookware, children’s bicycles, metal zippers, pencils, bond paper, plastic atomizers and metalized balloons.
  • High-value shipments: “Shipments invoiced over USD 2,500 as they will require specific import documentation by Mexican customs, which can result in the goods getting stuck at customs and never reaching the final customer.”

The page calls its list “indicative, not exhaustive.” Hazmat is a separate gate — the FAQ lists dangerous goods for Mexico as their own ineligible type; see dangerous goods review.

The NOM exemption is narrower than it sounds

NOMs (Normas Oficiales Mexicanas) are Mexico’s official product standards. Amazon’s page gives courier imports a broad pass with a list of exceptions: “Imports through courier services are mostly exempt from NOM compliance; however, this exemption does not apply to the following goods, therefore it is recommended to consider them as prohibited, unless the importer has documentation that proves compliance with these standards (Rule 2.4.11, IX).” The goods named are beer, new rubber tires for passenger cars, racing cars, buses and trucks, ceramic sanitary fixtures such as sinks, bathtubs and toilets, air valves for tires and inner tubes, non-refillable pocket gas lighters, table lighters and burners.

Two limits to read into that. The exemption is described for courier imports only; the page does not say it covers a bulk shipment into Mexican fulfillment centers, so do not assume it does. And the FAQ’s escape hatch runs through local stock: “If the inventory is already placed in our fulfillment centers after the proper importation process, contact Selling Partner Support and request for the ASINs to be unblocked” — with the stated exception that “This does not apply for products in the categories of baby products, medical devices, OTC, supplements and food.”

Fees in Pesos: What Amazon.com.mx Publishes

Our Canada guide found Canada’s per-unit FBA rates behind a Seller Central login (checked 2026-08-22). Mexico’s are public: Amazon’s Spanish-language seller site prints the full card (vender.amazon.com.mx, data checked 2026-09-15).

Subscription. Amazon’s Mexico pricing page states: “Es importante que consideres que la cuota de suscripción mensual de Vender con Amazon México, Estados Unidos y Canadá es de $39.99 USD al mes.” In other words, one USD 39.99 monthly subscription covers selling in Mexico, the US and Canada (vender.amazon.com.mx, data checked 2026-09-15). A US Professional seller already on the unified account adds no new subscription for Mexico. The peso tiers are what the Mexico site advertises to new registrants: 12 months free, then MXN 75 with under MXN 26,000 in prior-month sales or MXN 600 at MXN 26,000 or more.

Referral fees are quoted with VAT included and a MXN 8.00 minimum per item. A sample of the table (pricing page, data checked 2026-09-15):

Category (Amazon.com.mx)Referral fee, VAT included
Electronics10.0%
Office and Stationery10.0%
Home and Kitchen15.0%
Toys and Games8.0% up to MXN 300 total price; 15.0% above
Grocery and Gourmet12.0% up to MXN 500 total price; 15.0% above

Amazon charges the greater of the percentage or the minimum, as in the US; see Amazon referral fees.

FBA fulfillment fees are price-banded. The card, “actualizadas el 4 de junio de 2026,” charges by size, shipping weight and item price. Standard size is up to 45 x 35 x 20 cm; rows below are from the table for all categories except health and personal care, grocery and alcohol, which have a separate, cheaper low-price card:

Standard size, VAT includedUnder MXN 150MXN 150 to under 299MXN 299 to under 499MXN 499+
0–0.10 kgMXN 28.00MXN 33.00MXN 50.00MXN 61.80
0.40–0.50 kgMXN 28.20MXN 37.00MXN 54.00MXN 67.00
0.90–1.00 kgMXN 28.45MXN 39.50MXN 59.00MXN 72.70

Storage is billed monthly per cubic decimeter: MXN 0.36 (envelope or standard) and MXN 0.19 (large) from January to September, MXN 0.53 and MXN 0.43 from October to December, rates “actualizadas el 15/05/2025.” An aged-inventory surcharge starts at 181 days (MXN 0.30 per dm³) and reaches MXN 4.76 per dm³ or MXN 2.32 per unit at 366 days or more — though the pricing page also carries a conflicting line that starts a MXN 2.07 per dm³ surcharge after 271 days, so confirm in Seller Central. The US version is explained in aged inventory surcharge.

None of this card applies to Remote Fulfillment orders, which pay “the Remote Fulfillment with FBA costs” instead — a figure the public Remote Fulfillment page does not state.

What the Mexican Shopper Sees

Amazon.com.mx’s customer help pages explain cross-border orders from the buyer’s side (data checked 2026-09-15). On an international product, the buyer is treated as the importer; the international products terms require the buyer to supply an RFC or CURP, a phone number and an email for customs clearance. The import fee deposit page says an estimate of duties and taxes is collected with the order as a deposit, and if actual charges exceed that deposit, the customer is not charged more.

Two practical consequences: the deposit raises the checkout total next to a seller holding local stock, and the ID step adds checkout friction that a domestic FBA offer avoids. US-side tariffs on your sourcing are a separate question — see import tariffs for FBA sellers.

How to Decide

  1. Run your catalog against the courier list first. Footwear, e-mobility, powders and liquids, and the NOM-exception goods rule out Remote Fulfillment regardless of demand.
  2. Start eligible SKUs on Remote Fulfillment. It needs no Mexican inventory and, per Amazon, no Mexican tax payment by you.
  3. Settle the RFC question before shipping stock south. Amazon names stored inventory as a withholding trigger, and the no-RFC rate is 20% income tax plus 16% VAT.
  4. Price local FBA with the peso card, remembering the fee jumps at the MXN 150, 299 and 499 price lines.
  5. Move a SKU into Mexican fulfillment centers only after Amazon.com.mx sales history justifies an import project.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I sell on Amazon Mexico with my US seller account?

Yes, if it is a Professional account on the unified North America and Brazil account. Amazon’s Mexico pricing page says one USD 39.99 monthly subscription fee covers selling in Mexico, the US and Canada (data checked 2026-09-15).

Do I need an RFC to sell on Amazon Mexico?

Amazon does not state a blanket requirement. Its withholding FAQ says accounts located in Mexico, storing inventory in Mexico, or shipping from and to Mexican addresses “may be subject” to withholding, and applies the maximum rate when no RFC is provided (data checked 2026-09-15). Ask a Mexican tax adviser about your case.

How much are Amazon Mexico FBA fees?

Amazon.com.mx publishes them: a standard-size item of 0.40–0.50 kg costs MXN 28.20 to MXN 67.00 per unit depending on its price band, VAT included, on the card updated 4 June 2026 (data checked 2026-09-15).

Why was my product blocked on Amazon.com.mx?

Many blocks come from Mexico’s courier import rules: e-mobility devices, powders and liquids, countervailing-duty goods such as footwear, and shipments invoiced over USD 2,500 cannot enter by courier (data checked 2026-09-15).

The Bottom Line

To sell on Amazon Mexico from the US, start with Remote Fulfillment for SKUs that clear Mexico’s courier list: no Mexican stock, no new subscription, and import costs carried by the buyer through a deposit. Local Amazon Mexico FBA is the later step, and it brings the two Mexico-only costs this guide exists to flag — RFC-driven withholding once inventory sits in Mexico, and a price-banded peso fee card. Get the tax position from a Mexican adviser before the first pallet moves.