The Amazon Small Business badge goes to products from sellers who meet Gartner’s small-business definition — Amazon’s own wording: “small businesses typically have fewer than 100 employees and less than $50 million in annual revenue” — and who have their company headquarters in the U.S. (sell.amazon.com/blog/small-business-badge, checked 2026-09-17). Amazon names three account paths that make a seller eligible, one documented in-app step tied to just one of those paths, and no fee anywhere on the page. What the article does not spell out clearly is how the badge actually switches on for each path — and it says nothing at all about what the badge does for sales. Both gaps are covered below, with the official text quoted directly and every third-party claim labeled as such.
Fact Block: What Amazon Actually Publishes
Quoted from sell.amazon.com/blog/small-business-badge, re-verified 2026-09-17. The page carries a May 20, 2025 publish date and no separate “last updated” timestamp.
On the badge itself:
- “The Small Business badge appears on listings to help products from small businesses stand out.”
On who qualifies:
- “If you meet Gartner’s definition of a small business, the products you offer can qualify to receive the Small Business badge in the U.S.”
- “According to Gartner, small businesses typically have fewer than 100 employees and less than $50 million in annual revenue.”
- “If you meet the criteria and have headquarters in the U.S., here’s how to get the Small Business badge” — followed by the three enrollment paths below.
On the one documented workflow step:
- “Once you’re enrolled in Amazon Business, go to B2B in the main menu of your Seller Central account, then click on Certifications.”
Not published anywhere on the page: a fee, an application form, or a review timeline for the badge itself. Where those details exist, they come from third-party sources — flagged clearly in the sections below.
Who Counts as a “Small Business” for the Badge?
Three data points, all from the same paragraph, and two of the three borrowed from Gartner rather than an Amazon-original standard:
| Criterion | Threshold | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Employees | Fewer than 100 | Gartner’s definition, cited by Amazon |
| Annual revenue | Less than $50 million | Gartner’s definition, cited by Amazon |
| Headquarters | United States | Amazon’s own qualifier, stated separately from the Gartner figures |
Amazon does not publish how it verifies employee count or revenue — nothing on the page describes a self-attestation form, a document upload, or an audit step. It also does not address companies with a non-U.S. headquarters and a U.S. subsidiary, or the reverse; the sentence is a flat “have headquarters in the U.S.” with no branch-office carve-out. The badge itself is scoped to “the U.S.” — Amazon’s article gives no indication it appears on other Amazon stores.
Three Paths to Eligibility — Pick One, Not All Three
Amazon lists three account-level routes, and meeting the Gartner-plus-headquarters criteria alone is not enough without one of them:
| Path | What it requires | Where to go deeper |
|---|---|---|
| Professional selling plan | The paid seller tier instead of Individual — check Amazon’s own pricing page for the current monthly fee, which this article does not state | What is Amazon Seller Central? |
| Amazon Brand Registry or Amazon Handmade | A registered/pending trademark (Brand Registry) or acceptance into the artisan-vetted Handmade program | Amazon Brand Registry guide · Amazon Handmade guide |
| Amazon Business program | Enrollment in Amazon’s B2B selling program, which also unlocks the one documented Certifications step below | Amazon Business account vs. seller account |
Amazon presents these as alternatives — the word is “Enroll in Amazon Brand Registry or Amazon Handmade,” and a Professional plan or Amazon Business enrollment stand as separate, sufficient routes on the same list. Nothing on the page says you need more than one.
How the Badge Actually Gets Applied — One Documented Click, and It’s Not for Everyone
This is where Amazon’s article gets thin, and where the notes behind this guide flagged a real risk of over-reading a single sentence. Read the structure closely: the “go to B2B in the main menu… then click on Certifications” instruction sits directly under the Amazon Business bullet, not attached to the Brand Registry/Handmade or Professional-plan bullets above it. The word “automatic” never appears on the page.
Zoom out further and that same Certifications screen is also where Amazon documents unrelated diversity certifications — Black-Owned, Woman-Owned, Minority-Owned, and Veteran-Owned Business — in the article’s next section. Amazon’s own copy never states whether the Small Business badge is switched on the moment you enroll in Amazon Business, or whether something needs to be uploaded on that screen; it names a location, not a mechanism.
For the other two paths, Amazon’s page is silent on any manual step at all — “Enroll in Amazon Brand Registry or Amazon Handmade” is the entire instruction before the list moves on. Amazon Seller Forum threads (community and staff posts on sellercentral.amazon.com, not the designated sell.amazon.com true-value source used elsewhere in this guide, so treated here as third-party) describe this path as automatic: sellers already enrolled in Brand Registry or Handmade who meet the small-business criteria reportedly have the badge applied to their qualifying listings without a separate application step. That account is consistent with the article’s structure — the Amazon Business bullet is the only one followed by an action — but it remains a third-party characterization. Treat “automatic” here as reported by sellers, not confirmed by Amazon.
If you believe you qualify and the badge isn’t showing, Amazon’s own page gives no dispute path at all. A third-party seller-tools resource (EcomEngine, updated 2025-03-19) describes contacting Selling Partner Support with your brand and company name, business address, and Merchant Token ID, adding that sellers can expect a reply within roughly 10 business days. This is third-party reporting, not an Amazon-published process — confirm the current contact route inside your own Seller Central Help before relying on it, since sell.amazon.com/blog/small-business-badge makes no mention of Selling Partner Support at all.
Where the Badge Shows Up
Amazon states one thing about placement: “The Small Business badge appears on listings to help products from small businesses stand out.” That is a listing-level claim — the article does not specify whether it renders on search-result thumbnails, the product detail page, or both, and it says nothing about mobile versus desktop. The article quotes Dragon Glassware founder Matt Rollens describing it as a visibility and differentiation signal for shoppers who want to support small businesses, not a ranking mechanism. Nothing in Amazon’s own text ties the badge to Best Sellers Rank or to Amazon’s Choice — those are separate systems with their own criteria; see the Amazon best seller badge guide for how that one actually works.
What It Actually Does for Conversion (Third-Party Data, Not an Amazon Number)
Amazon publishes no lift figure for the Small Business badge anywhere on its seller pages. The most substantial independent data point is a study Momentum Commerce ran and PMG published on 2024-03-26, examining over 100,000 badged ASINs on Amazon US between September 2022 and February 2024. Every figure below is third-party research, not an Amazon-confirmed statistic:
| Segment | Reported change | Note |
|---|---|---|
| Overall average | +13.5% weekly sales | Across all badged ASINs in the study |
| Patio, Lawn & Garden | +81% | Strongest category in the study |
| Clothing, Shoes & Jewelry; Home & Kitchen | Little to no change | Study’s own wording |
| Toys & Games | Slight decrease | Study attributes this to high brand-consciousness in the category |
| Products already at high weekly revenue | “Minimal influence” | Lift was concentrated in products previously selling under $1,000/week |
Two caveats carry more weight than the headline number. First, the study measures sales, not conversion rate, directly — a real distinction if your traffic didn’t move. Second, its data window ends February 2024, over a year before this guide’s verification date, and no more recent public replication turned up in research for this article. Read it as a directional signal — the badge appears to help lower-volume listings more than established ones — not as a lift guaranteed for any specific product.
Common Mistakes
- Assuming the badge is a ranking or search-visibility boost. Amazon’s own copy never claims that; it calls the badge a way to “stand out,” not a ranking input.
- Treating “B2B > Certifications” as the small-business-specific application screen. Amazon’s article files it under the same hub as the Black-Owned, Woman-Owned, Minority-Owned, and Veteran-Owned certifications — it is a shared location, and the badge-specific mechanism there is unstated.
- Quoting a conversion-rate promise as an Amazon fact. The only public number is the 2024 third-party sales study above; Amazon has confirmed no figure of its own.
- Expecting the badge outside the U.S. store. The criteria are explicitly U.S.-headquarters, and Amazon frames the badge as a U.S.-store feature.
- Contacting Selling Partner Support with the wrong assumption that it’s Amazon’s documented process. It is a route reported by third-party sources, not one Amazon’s own article names.
Eligibility Checklist
- Fewer than 100 employees and under $50 million in annual revenue (Gartner definition, per Amazon)
- Company headquartered in the U.S.
- Enrolled in one of: Professional selling plan / Amazon Brand Registry or Handmade / Amazon Business program
- If enrolled via Amazon Business: checked Seller Central > B2B > Certifications
- If the badge is missing despite meeting the criteria: verified the current Selling Partner Support contact route in Seller Central Help directly, rather than relying on a third-party writeup
Frequently Asked Questions
How do I get the Amazon Small Business badge?
Meet Gartner’s small-business definition — fewer than 100 employees and under $50 million in annual revenue — and have your company headquarters in the U.S. Then enroll in one of three paths Amazon names: a Professional selling plan, Amazon Brand Registry or Handmade, or the Amazon Business program. If you go the Amazon Business route, Amazon documents one extra step: Seller Central’s B2B menu, then Certifications. For the other two paths, Amazon’s page states no separate application step (checked 2026-09-17).
Does the Small Business badge cost anything?
No fee appears anywhere on Amazon’s article. The badge itself is free; the underlying enrollment paths (a Professional selling plan’s monthly fee, for instance) carry their own separate costs that Amazon documents elsewhere.
Do I need Amazon Brand Registry to get the Small Business badge?
No. Brand Registry or Handmade is one of three listed paths — a Professional selling plan or enrollment in the Amazon Business program also qualifies, per Amazon’s own list.
Does the badge boost sales or search ranking?
Amazon publishes no ranking claim and no sales-lift figure for the badge. The only available data point is a third-party study (Momentum Commerce/PMG, published 2024-03-26) that found a 13.5% average weekly-sales increase across 100,000+ badged ASINs, with results ranging from +81% in Patio, Lawn & Garden to a slight decrease in Toys & Games. Treat that as directional third-party research, not an Amazon-confirmed number.
What if my business qualifies but the badge isn’t showing on my listings?
Amazon’s own page gives no dispute channel. Third-party sources describe contacting Selling Partner Support with your brand and company name, business address, and Merchant Token ID, citing a roughly 10-business-day reply window — but this is third-party reporting, not something sell.amazon.com/blog/small-business-badge itself documents, so confirm the current route in your own Seller Central Help first.
Conclusion
Amazon is precise about eligibility — three numbers, three enrollment paths, quoted directly above — and vague about everything past that. The article names exactly one workflow step, and it belongs to only one of the three paths; the other two are reported as automatic by sellers, not confirmed as such by Amazon. And the badge’s actual effect on sales has no Amazon-published answer at all, only a year-old third-party study with a wide category spread. Enroll through whichever path already fits your business, check the one documented Seller Central step if you went the Amazon Business route, and treat any conversion promise beyond the 2024 study — Amazon’s or anyone else’s — as unconfirmed until it’s printed on an official page.
Sources: Small Business badge (checked 2026-09-17) · How to Get an Amazon Small Business Badge (third-party, updated 2025-03-19) · Amazon’s Small Business Badge Boosts Sales by 13.5% (third-party study, published 2024-03-26)