Short answer: most Amazon sellers and advertisers cannot use the new Amazon Ads ChatGPT integration yet. On 2026-09-10, Amazon Ads announced a partnership with OpenAI to support advertising in ChatGPT, but Amazon’s own announcement says only that “Select advertisers in the U.S. are currently testing ChatGPT Ads as part of a pilot.” There is no sign-up page, no published eligibility criteria, and no public pricing from Amazon (data checked 2026-09-23).

The trade press has already covered what happened. This guide answers the question a seller or brand advertiser actually has: can I buy ChatGPT ads through Amazon DSP right now, what would plausibly qualify me when access widens, and what can I do in the meantime? Every fact below is tagged with where it comes from — Amazon’s own page, OpenAI, or third-party reporting — because on this story those three sources say very different amounts.


What Amazon Actually Announced — and What It Didn’t

Amazon’s official announcement page is short. As of 2026-09-23 it states four things of substance:

  1. Amazon Ads “has announced a partnership with OpenAI to support advertising in ChatGPT.”
  2. The partnership “enables advertisers to expand their Amazon Ads campaigns with a conversational ad experience on ChatGPT.”
  3. “Select advertisers in the U.S. are currently testing ChatGPT Ads as part of a pilot.”
  4. Delta Vacations is named as a participant; its president, Katrin Koenig, says the company is “proud to be among the first brands testing this new approach.”

The page is dated September 10, 2026, and the Amazon-side quote comes from Chris Conetta, Director of Omnichannel Supply at Amazon DSP.

What the official page does not say (checked 2026-09-23): how advertisers join the pilot, what budget or account type is required, how ads are priced, what ad formats run, what reporting you get, or when the pilot expands. Most of the operational detail circulating online comes from an Amazon spokesperson’s comments to trade publications, not from Amazon’s page.

ClaimAmazon official pageThird-party reporting
Partnership with OpenAI for ChatGPT adsYesYes
Pilot with select U.S. advertisersYesYes
Delta Vacations among first testersYesYes
Sold as a managed service via Amazon DSPNot statedYes (Retail Dive, 2026-09-11)
CPC and CPM buyingNot statedYes (Retail Dive)
Product feed ads from catalogsNot statedYes (Retail Dive)
Text/image units beneath responses, sponsored labelsNot statedYes (Retail Dive, citing an Amazon spokesperson)
Eligibility criteria, minimum spend, expansion dateNot statedNot reported

How the Amazon DSP ChatGPT Ads Surface Works (As Reported)

The mechanics below come from Retail Dive’s 2026-09-11 report, which attributes the ad-delivery detail to an Amazon spokesperson. Treat them as reported, not as Amazon-published terms.

The buying layer is Amazon; the serving layer is OpenAI. According to Retail Dive, ChatGPT Ads “will be bought via Amazon DSP and are offered as a managed service, meaning Amazon’s team will help set up and optimize campaigns,” while “OpenAI will control all ad delivery decisions through its own systems.” In practice, Amazon plans and optimizes the campaign; OpenAI decides whether and where an ad appears in a conversation.

Pricing model, not price. Retail Dive reports inventory “will be available on both a cost-per-click and cost-per-mille” basis. No rate, floor, or minimum has been published by Amazon or reported in the coverage reviewed for this guide (checked 2026-09-23).

Ad placement. Per the same report, ads “will surface as text and image units beneath organic ChatGPT responses with clearly marked sponsored labels,” consistent with how OpenAI already serves ads. Retail Dive also reports that ChatGPT currently runs ads on its free tier and the lower-priced Go subscription.

Product feed ads. Amazon is reported to be “offering product feed ads that automatically generate assets based on product catalogues.” For catalog-heavy brands this is the most relevant detail: creative would be built from your product data rather than written ad by ad. How a feed is supplied, and whether it can come straight from an Amazon listing catalog, has not been disclosed.

Reporting. Pilot participants “will receive some aggregated performance data related to impressions, clicks, cost per result, CPM and CPC metrics,” per Retail Dive. Nothing has been reported about attribution to Amazon store sales — the metric most sellers would care about first.


Can You Use Amazon ChatGPT Advertising Right Now?

For a typical Amazon seller, no. Here is the status by advertiser type as of 2026-09-23:

You are…Can you buy ChatGPT ads through Amazon DSP today?Why
A Seller Central seller running Sponsored Products onlyNoThe integration runs through Amazon DSP, not the Sponsored Ads console, and the pilot is limited to select advertisers
A self-service Amazon DSP advertiserNot reported as openCoverage describes the offer as managed service; no self-service route is mentioned
A managed-service Amazon DSP advertiser in the U.S.Only if you are among the select pilot advertisersNo application path or criteria are published
An advertiser outside the U.S.NoThe pilot is limited to the U.S. at launch (Retail Dive)
A brand that doesn’t sell on AmazonPossibly, laterAmazon DSP itself is open to non-Amazon sellers; the pilot’s own criteria are undisclosed

Two facts decide most of this table. First, the route in is Amazon DSP, which is a different product from the Sponsored Ads most sellers use — see our Amazon DSP explainer for how the two differ. Second, Amazon has disclosed no eligibility criteria, no billing terms of its own, and no expansion timeline. Anyone offering you “access” to Amazon’s ChatGPT ads today should be able to explain how, given that Amazon has not said.


What Would Plausibly Qualify You When Access Widens

Amazon has not published criteria, so this section is inference from the published DSP rules and the reported structure — labeled as such.

1. Being an Amazon DSP customer on managed service. If the ChatGPT inventory stays managed-service, the published bar is the one on Amazon’s DSP product page: “The managed-service option typically requires a minimum spend of $50,000 USD (minimum may vary per country)” (checked 2026-09-23). Whether that minimum would apply to ChatGPT campaigns specifically is not disclosed.

2. Being a U.S. advertiser. Amazon’s page describes the pilot advertisers as U.S.-based, and Retail Dive reports the pilot is limited to the U.S. at launch.

3. Having a clean product catalog. Because product feed ads are reported to build creative from catalogs, structured, accurate product data — titles, images, attributes, prices — is the asset you can prepare now at no cost.

4. Not necessarily selling on Amazon. Amazon’s DSP page answers “I don’t sell on Amazon. Can I still use Amazon DSP?” with “Yes.” The first named pilot brand is Delta Vacations, a travel brand, and Retail Dive notes the concept “could be appealing to nonendemic advertisers” — brands that wouldn’t typically sell goods on Amazon. Nothing published so far suggests Amazon store sellers are the first audience.


Your Options Today If You Want ChatGPT Ad Exposure

If waiting for Amazon isn’t attractive, there are two paths that don’t depend on the pilot.

Buy directly from OpenAI. MediaPost reported on 2026-05-06 that OpenAI launched “a self-service Ads Manager in beta that allows advertisers in the U.S. to sign up and purchase ads directly,” with cost-per-click bidding. Retail Dive’s September report adds that OpenAI says tens of thousands of advertisers use the service and that it has expanded to India, Europe, the Middle East and North Africa. OpenAI’s own pages returned a bot-check to our fetch on 2026-09-23, so confirm current eligibility and minimums on OpenAI’s Ads Manager before planning budget. The trade-off versus the Amazon route is data: a direct buy does not bring Amazon’s shopping and streaming signals with it.

Earn organic visibility in ChatGPT answers. Ads sit beneath the answer; the answer itself is still organic. Whether ChatGPT surfaces your product depends on what it can find and cite — see whether ChatGPT and Perplexity cite Amazon listings for what the data shows. That work pays off whether or not you ever buy an ad.

If your interest is AI tooling for managing Amazon campaigns rather than buying ChatGPT inventory, that is a separate topic: see the Amazon Ads MCP server.


What to Watch as the Pilot Expands

Use this as a checklist when the next announcement lands:

  • Self-service availability. Does the ChatGPT line item appear in self-service Amazon DSP, or stay managed-service only? This decides whether mid-size advertisers are in scope.
  • Published minimums. Does Amazon attach a spend floor to ChatGPT campaigns, or does the general $50,000 managed-service figure apply?
  • Sponsored Ads console access. A move into the Sponsored Ads console (where Sponsored Products live) would be the signal that ordinary sellers are the target.
  • Attribution to Amazon sales. Reported reporting today covers impressions, clicks, CPM and CPC. Watch for conversion or purchase attribution on Amazon — without it, sellers cannot judge return on spend.
  • Markets beyond the U.S. OpenAI’s own ad business already runs in more regions per Retail Dive; watch for whether Amazon’s route follows.
  • Product feed source. Whether product feed ads can be built directly from an Amazon catalog would matter most to Amazon-native brands.

Sources

All checked 2026-09-23.

FactSourceType
Partnership, U.S. pilot, Delta Vacations, Chris Conetta quote, 2026-09-10 dateAmazon Ads: Amazon Ads announces new integration with ChatGPTOfficial (Amazon)
Managed-service minimum; non-Amazon sellers can use DSPAmazon DSP product pageOfficial (Amazon)
Managed service, CPC/CPM, placement, sponsored labels, product feed ads, reporting, OpenAI controls deliveryRetail Dive, 2026-09-11Third-party reporting
OpenAI self-service Ads Manager beta for U.S. advertisersMediaPost, 2026-05-06Third-party reporting

Frequently Asked Questions

Can Amazon sellers run ads in ChatGPT through Amazon Ads?

Not generally, as of 2026-09-23. Amazon’s announcement says only select U.S. advertisers are testing ChatGPT Ads in a pilot, and the route is Amazon DSP rather than the Sponsored Ads console most sellers use. Amazon has published no application process.

How are Amazon DSP ChatGPT ads priced?

Amazon’s announcement does not state pricing. Retail Dive reported on 2026-09-11 that inventory is available on a cost-per-click and CPM basis; no rates or minimums specific to ChatGPT have been published.

Where do the ads appear in ChatGPT?

Retail Dive, citing an Amazon spokesperson, reports text and image units beneath organic ChatGPT responses with sponsored labels, with OpenAI controlling ad delivery. Amazon’s own page does not describe the format.

Is the Amazon ChatGPT ads pilot available outside the U.S.?

Not at launch. Amazon’s announcement says the testers are select U.S. advertisers, and Retail Dive reports the pilot is limited to the U.S. at launch. No expansion date has been published (checked 2026-09-23).


Conclusion

The Amazon Ads ChatGPT integration is real, but for now it is a pilot for a handful of U.S. advertisers bought through Amazon DSP — not a new campaign type in your Sponsored Ads console. Amazon has not published eligibility, billing, or an expansion date. The practical moves today are to keep your catalog data clean for product feed ads, understand where you stand on Amazon DSP, and watch for self-service access or published minimums as the signal that the door is opening.