Amazon Accelerate Tailored Audiences is the audience-segmentation layer inside Amazon Customer Engagement, the free email-marketing tool in Seller Central, and Amazon introduced it at its Accelerate seller conference in September 2022. It let brands email three groups Amazon defines — repeat customers, recent customers, and high-spend customers — instead of only the shoppers who had followed their brand. The gate is Amazon Brand Registry, and Amazon said at launch it was testing the feature in a beta program with a plan to make it available to all U.S. sellers in early 2023 (checked 2026-09-11).
This page covers what the program is, who can use it, the three numerical thresholds sellers cite for it, and how it differs from the ad campaigns you buy through Amazon Ads.
What Amazon Tailored Audiences Is
Amazon announced the feature in a press release datelined Sep. 14, 2022, tied to its annual Accelerate seller conference. The release describes new audience types added “within the Amazon Customer Engagement tool” and names them “Amazon Customer Engagement’s Tailored Audiences” (checked 2026-09-11).
Two things define the program:
- It is an email tool, not an advertising tool. The release says sellers can “expand beyond brand followers when sending free marketing emails.” Before this, Customer Engagement could only message shoppers who had explicitly followed the brand.
- Amazon defines the segments. You pick from categories Amazon builds from its own purchase data — the release lists “repeat customers, recent customers, and high-spend customers” — rather than uploading a list or writing your own targeting logic.
Amazon frames it as a retention channel. The release quotes open rate, click-through rates, emails delivered, opt-out rates, sales, and conversion as the metrics brands can monitor, which is the set of numbers you would expect from a seller-side email dashboard.
A naming caution, because two unrelated Amazon programs sound like this one. Amazon Accelerate is the conference where the feature was announced — it is an annual seller event, not a product. Amazon Launchpad is a separate invitation-only program for new and emerging brands; if you arrived here looking for that, the Launchpad eligibility guide is the right page. Neither is the email tool described here.
Who Can Use It
The short answer: brands enrolled in Amazon Brand Registry, with Amazon sending on their behalf.
Brand Registry is the same gate that stands in front of A+ Content, Vine, and Transparency, and it is the reason a Tailored Audiences question is usually a Brand Registry question in disguise. Amazon’s stated requirements are “a logo that includes your brand name permanently affixed to your products or packaging” and “a pending or registered trademark for your brand name or logo” from “the designated government trademark office of a country with a corresponding Amazon store” (checked 2026-09-11). If you are not through that gate yet, the Brand Registry guide walks the trademark paths and the enrollment checklist.
Three practical boundaries follow from how the tool is built:
- Amazon sends the email, not you. The message goes from Amazon on your behalf. You never receive the customer’s email address, and you cannot export the audience to your own email service provider.
- The templates are Amazon’s. At launch Amazon listed “custom HTML content and improved templates” as coming soon rather than shipping at launch, so the brand-control surface is smaller than a standalone ESP’s.
- Geography is set by Amazon, not by you. The release ties availability to U.S. sellers first, and expansion to other marketplaces came through Amazon’s own rollout decisions.
The blog page Amazon published in January 2026 about its promotion tool uses the term Brand Representative — a role assigned in Brand Registry — as the account-level permission required. Treat that as a strong signal of how Amazon gates these brand tools generally, but note that it is documented for the promotion tool, not stated in the 2022 Tailored Audiences announcement itself (checked 2026-09-11).
The Eligibility Thresholds — and Where Those Numbers Come From
Here is where most secondhand write-ups, including several published in 2024 and 2025, become unreliable, so this section separates the published rules from the repeated ones.
Amazon’s own announcement does not state numerical thresholds. The Accelerate press release lists no campaign counts, no delivery minimums, and no engagement requirements. The official announcement post on Amazon’s Seller Central forums, written by the News_Amazon account in the same period, states none either (checked 2026-09-11).
The three numbers that circulate come from a seller reply, not from Amazon. In the Seller Central forum thread carrying Amazon’s announcement, a seller posted that the feature is “only available if you have qualified” and listed these criteria verbatim:
Sent 10 or more customer engagement campaigns with at least 1000 total emails sent over the last 10 campaigns Average opt out to click rate less than 1% over the last 10 customer engagement campaigns
Read the third quantity carefully, because it is the one most often paraphrased wrong. It is an opt-out-to-click rate, not an opt-out rate and not a click-through rate — read literally, that is a ratio between unsubscribes and clicks, and it must stay under 1% averaged across the last 10 campaigns. Plenty of third-party summaries flatten it into “click-through rate below 1%,” which reverses the direction of the requirement: a low click-through rate is not a disqualifier, and a healthy click rate actually helps you clear this bar.
That same seller asked Amazon in the thread to clarify whether access would open to brands regardless of prior send volume. No Amazon reply is visible in the thread (checked 2026-09-11). Treat the thresholds as seller-reported operating criteria until you can see them in your own Seller Central account — which is a different evidentiary status from an Amazon-published rule, and worth remembering before you plan a campaign calendar around hitting exactly 1,000 sends.
Seller Central’s help hub returns a login shell rather than page content to anyone without an authenticated session, so the account-level help page for this feature cannot be quoted from outside an account (checked 2026-09-11).
The Audience Segments Amazon Defines
The three segments in Amazon’s release are broad categories. Amazon’s May 19, 2023 launch announcement on the Seller Central forums adds detail on one of them:
| Segment | Definition | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Repeat customers | Customers who have bought at least two products from your brand in the last 12 months, refreshed weekly | Amazon’s wording, in the News_Amazon announcement post of May 19, 2023 (checked 2026-09-11) |
| Recent customers | The most recent portion of shoppers who bought from the brand — this is AMZBase’s reading of the segment name, not an Amazon definition | Amazon’s Sep. 14, 2022 press release names this segment but publishes no definition for it |
| High-spend customers | The brand’s highest-spending customers — this is AMZBase’s reading of the segment name, not an Amazon definition | Amazon’s Sep. 14, 2022 press release names this segment but publishes no definition for it, and states no spend window or threshold |
The weekly refresh on the repeat-customer segment matters more than it reads. A segment that updates weekly means an audience you mailed in March is not the same list in June, so a campaign that worked once may not reach the same people twice.
Tailored Audiences vs Amazon’s Own Ad Campaigns
These are three different mechanisms that all put your brand in front of shoppers, and they are funded in three different ways. Confusing them is the most common structural error in write-ups about Amazon marketing.
| Customer Engagement emails (Tailored Audiences) | Amazon Ads campaigns | Brand Tailored Promotions | |
|---|---|---|---|
| What it is | Free marketing emails Amazon sends to Amazon-defined customer segments | Paid ad placements bought through the advertising console | Targeted discount offers delivered to Amazon-defined segments |
| What it costs you | No media cost | Cost per click or per thousand impressions | The discount you fund, 10% to 50% off |
| Who can use it | Brands in Brand Registry | Sellers and vendors with an advertising account | Brand Representatives enrolled in Brand Registry |
| Where you manage it | Seller Central, Brands then Customer engagement | Advertising console | Seller Central promotions dashboard |
| Effective date of this description | Announced Sep. 14, 2022 | Documented in the bulksheets guide | Amazon blog page published Jan. 20, 2026 |
If you are new to the account structure these three live inside, the Seller Central overview maps which console controls which tool.
The distinction that costs sellers money is the middle column against the first. Tailored Audiences reaches an audience without a media buy — the constraint is eligibility and template, not budget. Amazon Ads campaigns reach shoppers you have not sold to yet and bill you for the reach. The right way to think about it: Tailored Audiences is a retention channel for customers Amazon already knows bought from you, and ads are an acquisition channel. Both the Brand Analytics guide and the Brand Referral Bonus guide cover the measurement side of the same brand-tools family, since neither channel is readable without knowing who your repeat buyers are.
What the Program Does Not Give You
Amazon is specific about the boundaries, and overreading them leads to bad planning.
- No customer email addresses, ever. You do not get the list. Amazon sends, Amazon keeps the address.
- No off-Amazon channel. Because you cannot export the audience, Tailored Audiences does not build an owned email list. It reaches people inside Amazon’s ecosystem and stops there.
- No custom segmentation. The categories are Amazon’s. You cannot define “customers who bought the red variant in Q2.”
- No guaranteed reach. Amazon can throttle or pause campaign sending. The forum thread the announcement lives in carries seller replies reporting that campaign sending was temporarily paused while Amazon made improvements — a reminder that send volume is Amazon’s lever, not yours (checked 2026-09-11).
Program Status: What Amazon Documents in 2026
The press release and the launch announcement are the authoritative descriptions of Tailored Audiences. Amazon’s press release is datelined Sep. 14, 2022, and described the feature as in beta with U.S. availability planned for early 2023. Amazon announced the launch itself on the Seller Central forums through its News_Amazon account on May 19, 2023: “We’ve launched the new Brand Tailored Audiences feature in the Manage Your Customer Engagement tool” (checked 2026-09-11).
The term “Tailored Audiences” does not appear on Amazon’s current official page for brand promotion tools. The blog page Amazon published on Jan. 20, 2026 describes Brand Tailored Promotions — targeted discount offers to Amazon-defined segments — and never uses the phrases “Tailored Audiences” or “Customer Engagement” (checked 2026-09-11). That page documents an audience-size minimum of 1,000 or more, availability to Brand Representatives in the U.S., UK, Spain, France, Italy, Germany, and Japan, a 10% to 50% discount range, and a cap of 20 active or scheduled promotions at a time. The May 2023 forum announcement calls the email feature Brand Tailored Audiences, one word away from Brand Tailored Promotions and a different program.
The email tool stopped sending campaigns on February 16, 2024, and its dashboard was removed after April 30, 2024. In a Seller Central forum thread running from February 21 to March 6, 2024, a seller reposted the in-product notice verbatim: “The Manage Your Customer Engagement (MYCE) tool for brands is no longer available and stopped sending campaigns on February 16, 2024 … After April 30, 2024, the MYCE dashboard will be removed from Seller Central and Vendor Central and your campaign data will no longer be available.” Other sellers in that thread confirmed MYCE showed as unavailable for them too, and an Amazon employee account replied without disputing the shutdown — a seller’s verbatim repost of Amazon’s own in-product notice, with an Amazon employee present in the thread, rather than an Amazon press release (checked 2026-09-11). No Amazon-published notice of a relaunch or of a successor email tool was retrieved as of 2026-09-11. Brand Registry’s enrollment page still lists Brand Tailored Promotions among the tools its gate opens, which confirms Amazon still ships the promotion tool (checked 2026-09-11).
If your account still shows a Customer Engagement menu path, verify what it does before planning a campaign around it: the last documented change to this tool is the 2024 shutdown described above, and no relaunch has been announced. If the path is gone, that matches the shutdown timeline.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is Amazon Tailored Audiences free?
Yes. Amazon’s announcement describes the emails as free and places the tool in Seller Central. There is no media cost, unlike an Amazon Ads campaign, which bills per click or per impression.
How many campaigns do I need to send before I qualify?
The three numbers most often quoted are 10 or more customer engagement campaigns, at least 1,000 total emails sent across the last 10 campaigns, and an average opt-out-to-click rate below 1%. Those come from a seller reply in the Amazon forum thread, not from an Amazon-published rule, and the announcement itself states no thresholds (checked 2026-09-11).
Do I get the customer email addresses?
No. Amazon sends the email on your behalf and does not disclose addresses to the brand, which is why the tool cannot be used to build an off-Amazon mailing list.
Is Tailored Audiences the same as Brand Tailored Promotions?
No. Tailored Audiences is the email segmentation inside Customer Engagement announced in September 2022. Brand Tailored Promotions, described on an Amazon blog page published Jan. 20, 2026, delivers discount offers of 10% to 50% off to Amazon-defined audience segments and requires a minimum audience size of 1,000. Both use audience segments; one sends email and the other funds a discount.
Do I need Brand Registry to use it?
Yes. The Brand Registry gate applies — the same enrollment Amazon presents as the door to A+ Content, Vine, Transparency, and Brand Analytics. The requirements are a logo that includes your brand name permanently affixed to your products or packaging, plus a pending or registered trademark (checked 2026-09-11).
Conclusion
Amazon Tailored Audiences is a retention email layer bolted onto Amazon Customer Engagement, announced at Accelerate in September 2022, gated behind Brand Registry, and limited to audience segments Amazon itself defines. Its documentation is thin by Amazon standards: the numerical qualification criteria that circulate most widely come from a seller reply rather than an Amazon page, the help-hub documentation sits behind a login, and the newest official page in this family describes a discount program instead. Plan around what your own Seller Central account shows, and treat the rest as reported rather than published.